Just another WordPress.com site

His Glory Will Give You A Son-Tan

20110928-043109.jpg
photo credit

And all of us, as with unveiled face, [because we] continued to behold [in the Word of God] as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are constantly being transfigured into His very own image in ever increasing splendor and from one degree of glory to another; [for this comes] from the Lord [Who is] the Spirit. (2 Corinthians 3:18 AMP)

Do not be conformed to this world (this age), [fashioned after and adapted to its external, superficial customs], but be transformed (changed) by the [entire] renewal of your mind [by its new ideals and its new attitude], so that you may prove [for yourselves] what is the good and acceptable and perfect will of God, even the thing which is good and acceptable and perfect [in His sight for you]. (Romans 12:2 AMP)

How many changes would you like to make in your life? I can think of a few for myself. Okay, I admit, I can think of a lot! I would like to start with better eating habits, perhaps being a little slower to anger, but I COUlD definitely benefit from getting a little more organized.

20110928-045359.jpg

I am a work in progress, to put it mildly. The strange thing is, however, the harder I try, the more I fall. Well, at least I am in good company. Paul said, For I fail to practice the good deeds I desire to do, but the evil deeds that I do not desire to do are what I am [ever] doing. (Romans 7:19 AMP)

In looking at my many weaknesses, I decided it is time to change. My heart’s desire is to please the Lord and walk in His Blessings. So, I come up with a plan. Tomorrow, I am going to change. Tomorrow comes and I do REAL well…. until…… it’s time to get out of bed! Can you sympathize with me?

Not so long ago, I prayed a dangerous prayer. I asked the Lord to make me meek. Meekness is not only humility; it is utter dependence upon the Lord. Moses, the meekest man in the world, wouldn’t even take one step unless he knew the Lord was before him, beside him, above him, beneath him, behind him.

20110928-044546.jpg
photo credit

After I prayed this prayer for meekness, immediately, I couldn’t do even the simplest of tasks. It was as if the Lord took away all the natural strength I had. It was as if He was showing me all the areas of my life I was self-dependent. Sometimes our greatest strengths and natural talents can be a hinderance to walking in humility. We may not even realize we are self-dependent. I had no choice but to set out on a journey, of which I have not competed yet, to relearn how to do everything in His strength.

If you have failed as many times as I have, you begin to get desperate. God’s kingdom is the backwards, inside, outside, upside down Kingdom. You have to die to live and lose to win. Misty Edwards sings that song:) I realized that to become strong, I must become weak.

This is the key to change. I imagine myself standing before the light of His Glory, knowing my weaknesses are going to be exposed. However, if I can persevere in the Light of His Glory, I will be transformed.

20110928-045010.jpg
photo credit

Jesus said, “For everyone who does wicked things hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his works should be exposed. But whoever does what is true comes to the light, so that it may be clearly seen that his works have been carried out in God.” (John 3:20, 21 ESV)

My work is to trust in Jesus, so I need not be ashamed when I come to His Light. I can rest assured that as I immerse myself in the Word and delight in His presence, change will come!

20110928-045606.jpg
photo credit

Leave a Reply

